Playing with Fire. Waiting to Burn.

I remember walking around the antique stores with you. I remember the beautiful sights and the wonderful quiet silence that echoed throughout the rooms. There wasn’t anything that was going to stop me from having this day. I deserved it after all; I deserve a break from it all.

But when I caught my heart reaching out to yours, I froze in fear. How could I let this happen again? You could turn everything I saw as white into everything I have nightmares of in black. And that terrifies me.

What if my heart would still choose you, in the end? What if I choose you and you choose to walk away again? What if I fall for everything you do and then find out it’s all been a lie again? What if I give you another chance but you throw it into the fire again? What if…

Those ‘what if’s kills me inside. Those ‘what if’s terrify me.

But, then again, I always loved playing with fire.